How can I help myself,    as one woman said to me about wanting

to have intercourse with strange men, from thinking of a man

How can I help myself,     as one woman said to me about wanting

to have intercourse with strange men,     from thinking of a man

(someone whom I don’t know) as being like a seal. I mean I see a

man

(in a crowd such a theater) as having the body of a seal in the way

a man would, say, be in bed with someone, kissing and barking,

which is the way a seal would bark and leap on his partly-fused hind

limbs.

Yes. Am I not bound, I guess (I say to myself) to regard him tenderly,

to concentrate on the man’s trunk instead of his face which in this

case,

is so impassive.    Seriously,     I am fascinated by the way a seal

moves.

– Leslie Scalapino, from Considering how exaggerated music is

Leave a Reply

